BooksNAPERVILLE – State Senator Laura Ellman (D-Naperville) announced today that five local area school districts are set to receive over $40,000 in grants given out by Illinois Secretary of State Jesse White’s School Library Grant program.

The grants, which are issued by the Illinois State Library, are meant to help public schools offer more library books and materials to students.

“I’m grateful to hear that these five districts will receive these grants,” Ellman said. “Libraries play an important role and are a wonderful resource for children of all ages. This additional funding will be helpful for these libraries to continue updating their materials for every student.”

School libraries can use these funds to acquire fiction and/or nonfiction books, educational CDs and DVDs, and library subscriptions to electronic resources, as well as to improve technology by purchasing new computers or improving Wi-Fi connectivity.

Schools receiving school library grants include:

  • Naperville CUSD #203 - $12,001.50
  • Benjamin School District #25 – $750.00
  • Wheaton-Warrenville CUSD #200 - $9,174.75
  • Winfield School District 34 - $750.00
  • Indian Prairie CUSD # 204 – $19,908.75

Grant applications for Fiscal Year 2021 are set to be available in August of this year.