SPRINGFIELD – Senate Democrats paid respect to police officers who have fallen in the line of duty at the Illinois State Police Officers Memorial in Springfield Thursday.

“These brave men and women who made the ultimate sacrifice protecting their communities are the purest example of selfless duty,” said State Senator Martwick (D-Chicago). “As we honor these fallen officers, we must recognize the lasting impact these individuals have made on our communities.”

The ceremony was held at the Illinois State Police Memorial Statue, which sits on the west lawn of the state Capitol bearing the names of the fallen officers who have lost their lives on duty. Since 1990, a ceremony has been held annually to pay tribute to fallen officers and their families. The names of the officers who died while serving during the previous year are engraved on the monument leading up to the ceremony.

“Our police officers hold one of the most important roles in our communities,” said State Senator Cunningham, a Democrat who represents portions of Chicago and the Southwest Suburbs. “With this tribute, we honor their courage and express our gratitude.”

This year, the ceremony honored two officers killed in the line of duty in 2023, Officer Andres Mauricio Vasquez Lasso and Officer Aréanah Makayla Preston. Four historic honorees were also acknowledged, Officer John Francis Kane, Sheriff Ray Boston, Deputy Sheriff Andrew H. Sloan and Detective Todd C. Gillerlain.

More information on the Illinois State Police Officers Memorial can be found on their website.