harmon 03052020CM0660SPRINGFIELD, IL – Senate President Don Harmon (D-Oak Park) announced four appointees to the Restore Illinois Collaborative Commission, a group created to help guide Illinois through the reopening process following stay-at-home orders to slow the spread of coronavirus.

Senators Christopher Belt (D-Centreville), Dave Koehler (D-Peoria), Iris Y. Martinez (D-Chicago) and Laura Murphy (D-Des Plaines) will represent Senate Democrats on the commission. 

“These senators bring a regional diversity and passion for serving their constituents to this commission,” Harmon said. “I know they will do an excellent job advocating for the people of Illinois so that we can safely move forward toward a new normal and a thriving economy.”

The General Assembly passed legislation to create the bipartisan, bicameral commission in May. It will advise Gov. JB Pritzker’s administration as the state moves to open while balancing public health measures.

Harmon also announced the following appointments:

  • Legislative Budget Oversight Commission: Senator Omar Aquino (D-Chicago), Senator Cristina Castro (D-Elgin), Senator Bill Cunningham, Senator Laura Ellman (D-Naperville), Senator Andy Manar (D-Bunker Hill), Senator Elgie Sims (D-Chicago) and Senator Heather Steans (D-Chicago)
  • Commission on Poverty Elimination and Economic Security: Senator Kimberly A. Lightford (D-Maywood)