SPRINGFIELD – More than a dozen athletes from Illinois represented the United States at the recent Winter Olympics. To honor their accomplishments, the Illinois Senate passed a resolution Friday.

“I am proud of all the winter Olympians from Illinois,” said Senate President Don Harmon (D-Oak Park).

Fourteen of the 220 athletes who were on team USA were from Illinois, and they competed in figure skating, hockey, ski jumping and speed skating.

“The hard work and motivation the Olympians have is admirable. We all watched anxiously and cheered you on as you lived out your dreams to compete as one of the country’s top athletes,” said State Senator Julie Morrison (D-Lake Forest). “To our fellow athletes who represented our great nation at the winter games – you made your home state extremely proud.”

TeamUSA animated

The athletes from Illinois who participated in the Winter Games include:

  • Keven Bickner, Lake Forest: Ski jumping, men’s individual, team large hill and normal hill
  • Megen Bozek, Buffalo Grove: Ice hockey, women’s team
  • Jason Brown, Highland Park: Figure skating, men’s singles
  • Ethan Cepuran, Glen Ellyn: Speed skating, long track
  • Jesse Compher, Northbrook: Ice hockey, women’s team
  • Kendall Coyne Schofield, Palos Heights: Ice hockey, women’s team
  • Patrick Gasienica, Spring Grove: Ski jumping, men’s normal hill 
  • Savannah Harmon, Downers Grove: Ice hockey, women’s team
  • Austin Klea, Campton Hills: Speed skating, long track 
  • Alexa Knierim, Addison: Figure skating, pairs
  • Hilary Knight, Lake Forest: Ice hockey, women’s team
  • Casey Larson, Barrington: Ski jumping, men’s individual, team large hill and normal hill
  • Emery Lehman, Oak Park: Speed skating, long track
  • Abbey Murphy, Evergreen Park: Ice hockey, women’s team