Graduation Stock Students Caps Backwards 4 27


SPRINGFIELD – State Senator Cristina Castro (D- Elgin) recently honored 254 high school students from the community who were named 2021-22 Illinois State Scholars by the Illinois Student Assistance Commission.

Illinois State Scholar winners rank in approximately the top 10% of the state’s high school seniors from 676 high schools in all 102 counties. Selection is based on a combination of standardized test scores and class rank or unweighted GPA at the end of the student’s junior year. ISAC works in conjunction with the students’ high school guidance counselors to determine the winners.

“With all the changes this last year has brought on, it is extra impressive that these students were able to persevere and exceed in their studies the way they did,” Castro said. “I am proud of all these students in our community for going above and beyond this year.”

The Scholars from Kane County include students from Dundee-Crown High School, Elgin Academy, Elgin High School, Larkin High School, St. Edward Central Catholic High School, Streamwood High School and Hoffman Estates High School.

Recipients of the award will receive a congratulatory letter from ISAC, and a Certificate of Achievement will be sent to their high school. State Scholars will also receive a digital badge issued by ISAC that can be displayed on online profiles, exhibited on social media, and shared with prospective colleges and employers.

“Recognition as an Illinois State Scholar could help students get admitted into the colleges they want and receive financial aid to help them afford school. As the school year ends and a new class of students look ahead to their junior year, I encourage all students to work hard and strive for greatness,” Castro said.

More information about the State Scholar program can be found at ISAC’s website.