Lightford announces library grants to local school districts

library 011520SPRINGFIELD – Ten local school districts will receive more than $16,000 in grants through the Illinois secretary of state’s School Library Grant program, Senate Majority Leader Kimberly A. Lightford (D-Maywood) announced today.

The grants, which are issued by the Illinois State Library, are meant to help public schools offer more library books and materials to students.

“I am delighted that many deserving schools will benefit from this years’ library grants,” said Lightford. “Having access to new library books and additional educational materials encourages students to experience the joy of reading and learning exciting information.”

Schools receiving school library grants include:

  • Bellwood School District 88 — $1,656.75
  • Berkeley School District 87 — $1,797
  • Proviso Township High School District 209 — $3,254.25
  • Forest Park School District 91 — $750
  • Hillside School District 93 — $750
  • Lyons Township High School District 204 — $3,038.25
  • LaGrange School District 102 — $2,209.50
  • Komarek District 94 — $750
  • River Forest School District 90 — $1,072.50
  • Westchester School District 92.5 — $815.25

Sen. Lightford

Majority Leader Kimberly A. Lightford

Senate Majority Leader
4th District

Years served: 1998 - Present (Senate) 

Committee assignments: Assignments (Chairperson); Education; Energy and Public Utilities; Executive Appointments; Executive; Oversight Medicaid Mang. Care, Spec; Supplier Diversity, Special Com. On; Subcommittee on Gov. Operations (Sub-Chairperson); Subcommittee on Charter Schools (Sub-Chairperson).

Biography: B.A. in Communications, Western Illinois University; M.A. in Public Administration, University of Illinois Springfield; former Village of Maywood trustee; former employee at Secretary of State, Department of Corrections and Central Management Services; longtime champion in the Senate for education, working families and women's issues; lives in Maywood with her family.

Associated Representatives:
La Shawn K. Ford
Emanuel Chris Welch