Collins' Illinois Council on Women and Girls welcomes 21 new members

collins council 041019 Collins: “Each of these women has shown a commitment to equality.”

SPRINGFIELD – State Senator Jacqueline Collins issued the following statement after a reception at the Governor’s Mansion where 21 new members of the Illinois Council on Women and Girls were named by Gov. JB Pritzker.

“The systemic inequality that holds back our daughters, sisters and mothers from realizing the fullness of their God-given talents will only be cast down if we recognize that it is a problem and empower women who are unafraid to call it out,” Collins said. “I have had the great privilege to personally work with many of these appointees as they have sought positive change in Illinois. Their courage and commitment to working for equality for women is exactly what I hoped for when I called for the creation of the Illinois Council on Women and Girls.”

Lt. Gov. Juliana Stratton will chair the council, which was created by legislation sponsored by Collins. The new members are Pamela Althoff, Amanda Basso, Candace Coleman, Sylvia Collins, Rochelle Crump, Brandy Donaldson, Veronica Espina, Theresa Forthofer, Monique Garcia, Kaethe Morris Hoffer, Aileen Kim, Ines Kutlesa, Jennifer Lee, Maaria Mozaffer, Wendy Pollack, Dr. Vidyha Prakash, Nikita Richards, Drella Savage, Lt. Governor Juliana Stratton, Rhonda Thomas and Amina Zaffer.

The Council will issue semi-annual policy recommendation reports by June 30 and December 31 of each year to the Governor and the General Assembly.