Holmes leads State Senate in tribute to Aurora shooting victims

holmes 050218SPRINGFIELD – State Senator Linda Holmes (D-Aurora) rose today on the floor of the Illinois State Senate to honor the five men killed in a workplace shooting last Friday in Aurora. At the end of her remarks, the entire body stood for a moment of silence in memory of the victims.

Below is the full text of Holmes’ statement in the Senate chamber:

“On Friday, February 15, my city of Aurora became the site of a horrific mass shooting. In the middle of what should have been a regular work day at Henry Pratt Company, a gunman began shooting at workers in the plant and took the lives of five men. Thanks to the heroic actions of police officers running into the chaos, only one other worker was injured. 

“The gunman shot five officers who, I am relieved to say, are all recovering from their wounds. We owe our deepest gratitude and wishes for healing to those officers and the other first responders at the scene.

“The victims of the shooting were Trevor Wehner, 21, of Sheridan, Ill.; Russell Beyer, 47, of Yorkville; Vicente Juarez, 54, of Oswego; Josh Pinkard, 37 of Oswego; and Clayton Parks, 32, of Elgin.

“Just as every one of us does every day, these men were simply doing their jobs. They were taken from their spouses, children and grandchildren, parents, siblings, friends and coworkers. They were taken from their community. 

“We will never be able to mend the loss or undo the trauma to those who witnessed these events Friday afternoon at Henry Pratt and to those whose lives are forever changed because of this heartbreaking attack.

“I pledge to my neighbors in Aurora that I will do everything I can to help our community recover – but more importantly, I will do everything I can to pay tribute to the victims and ensure we hold their loved ones in our hearts.”

Sen. Linda Holmes

Assistant Majority Leader Linda Holmes

Assistant Majority Leader
42nd District

Years served: 2007 - Present

Committee assignments: Agriculture (Vice-Chairperson); Commerce and Economic Development (Chairperson); Executive; Labor; Local Government (Vice-Chairperson); Telecommunications & InfoTechnology.

Biography: Elected to the Senate in 2006; born March 16, 1959, in Chicago; received a bachelor's degree from the National College of Education (now National-Lewis University); First woman president of the National Association of the Remodeling Industry; Full-time state legislator.

Associated Representatives:
Barbara Hernandez
Stephanie A. Kifowit